Rules in the allocator are the easiest way to automate your work in Figured, so that the income and expenses coming through from Xero are automatically applied to a crop season. 

By allocating it to a crop season, you’ll see an accurate cost of production report at the end of the season.

Setting up your allocation rules

When you're inside your allocator, click Allocation rules.

On the screen that follows, you'll be able to view existing rules and setup new rules.

To add a new rule, select Add rule.

You'll fill in this information based on what accounts you wish to be dealt with automatically. 

Rules need an Account and a Tracking option.

For example, in the above I have set the following criteria for transactions flowing from Xero:

  • All transactions sitting against Crop - Fertiliser (regardless of date)
  • All transactions where there is no tracking option present

That means that any transactions that match that criteria will then be automatically allocated to my crop season for Corn

There is no limit to the rules that you can create, and these can be updated or deleted at any stage.
 
 

Dismiss historical rule

You have the ability in your allocator to add a Dismiss historical rule.
How this rule works is that you set an end date - any transaction occurring before this end date will be dismissed. 

This is really useful if you've got quite a few years on Xero already, and don't want to allocate historical information!

To add one in, click Add rule > Dismiss historical and enter your end date. That's it!

 

Deleting an allocator rule

Deleting rules should only be done if the rule is no longer needed. If you do need to delete a rule, head into your Allocation rules, find the rule, and click Edit.


You can choose to either:

  • Delete: all existing allocations done by this rule will remain, and no more will be allocated moving forward. You'd do this if you no longer need the rules to be active.
  • Revert and delete: all existing allocations will be undone and the rule will be removed. You'd do this is the rule was a mistake or entirely wrong.

NOTE: Once a rule has been deleted, it cannot be restored.
 

Learn more:

Did this answer your question?